On September 22nd, undergraduate and graduate students and post-doctoral fellows from the Department of Chemical Engineering presented their research as part of the Annual Queen’s University and Royal Military College of Canada (RMC) Chemical Engineering Poster Session organized by the Chemical Engineering Graduate Student Association (CEGSA).

Students of Drs. Carlos Escobedo, Emily Corcoran (RMC), Ehssan Koupaie, Michael Cunningham, Brian Amsden, Cao Thang Dinh, Aris Docoslis, Kevin De France, Laura Wells, Laurece Yang, Jim McLellan, and Robin Hutchinson showcased their research in a wide variety of sub disciplines. Students had the opportunity to further develop their communication skills and were adjudicated by a panel of judges including Drs. Kevin De France, Nicolas Hudon, Cao Thang Dinh, Laura Wells, and Dr. Mariya Marinova from the Royal Military College of Canada.

Thanks to members of CEGSA, Melissa Bonilla, Elizabeth Bygott, Joshua Chamberland, Lauren Gibson, Haritha Haridas and Carolina Ordonez for organizing the session. 


Best Postdoctoral Poster AwardNoushin Rajabalinia (Robin Hutchinson) - Measurement of Radical Polymerization Kinetics of Sparingly Water-Soluble Monomers in Organic and Aqueous Solvents

Best Ph.D. Poster AwardSean O. Mathew (Brian Amsden) - Scaffold Generation via Melt Electro-Writing (MEW) for Tendon Tissue Engineering,

Best Master Poster Award (Tie)Laura Quinones-Gomez (Cao Thang Dinh) - Selective Electrochemical Nitrate Reduction to Ammonia on CoCu Bimetallic Catalysts,

Best Master Poster Award (Tie)Maria Carolina Ordoñez (Mike Cunningham, Kevin De France) - Enhancing Latex-Based Coatings with Carboxylated Cellulose Nanocrystals,

Best Undergraduate Poster AwardOlivia Roland - Co-Delivery of a Small Molecule Drug and Therapeutic RNA for the Treatment of Glaucoma

People's Choice AwardMaria Carolina Ordoñez - Enhancing Latex-Based Coatings with Carboxylated Cellulose Nanocrystals,

People's Choice AwardAnnalise Foster (Carlos Escobedo) - Microfluidics to Study Vibrio cholerae Chemotactic Motion on Gastrointestinal Infection.


Noushin Rajabalinia (Left - Best Postdoctoral Poster Award) and Olivia Roland (Right - Best Undergraduate Poster Award)